Wednesday, July 11, 2012

an unwelcome visitor

Untitled

I went to bed last night hoping I'd be up for yoga. But once morning came around I knew wouldn't be making it. My body was absolutely run down and exhausted. I'm still really sore in my quads from our Subway adventure and have a lingering cold. After a quick trip outside for the boys, I crawled back into bed and fell asleep. Mitch started to stir with the boys around 8:40 and all three of them tried to get me up too. I wasn't having it. Eventually I managed to head downstairs for my morning routine of caffeine and my handful pills. Once the caffeine kicked in, we decided to attempt a little shopping for Abby's wedding on Saturday. We didn't have any luck this go around either. However smoothies for breakfast and a stop for nail polish things seemed to be good.

Back home we curled up for awhile before Mitch headed into work. The morning was overcast but the sun finally decided to come out around noon. I desperately wanted and needed a nap but figured I'd fill a trash bag or two with weeds before the trash got picked up. It was startling how muggy and hot it was outside. I bagged up my withered peas from the heat, weeded out half of the garden and mustered up a little more energy for another bag full of weeds from the front yard. Not even a half hour outside I was dripping like I never have before. My original goal was to avoid the main heat of the day considering it was supposed to be 104. After filling up the rest of the garbage can I called it quits and headed inside for a nap. Laying down with the boys I couldn't quite put my mind to rest.... our overgrown lawn was calling for a mow.

another shot of caffeine and I figured I'd hurry up and check the mowing off my list, shower and make lunch for Mitch by 3:30 and then I'd be able to enjoy a nap. {Mitch has a habit of interrupting my naps if he is working} Putting the mower on the tallest setting I made good progress with our forest.... until I make a second pass next to my perennial bed on the south side of the lawn.... Why in the hell is there a snake in my yard?!! My heart immediately pounds through my chest and I try to keep cool. As I keep eyes on it I weigh out my options. Mitch doesn't come home for another couple hours, I'm not really in the mood to sit here and watch it. I can't leave it and lose sight of it... that would be even worse. Maybe I can leash Jake and he'll get it and mangle it enough I can dispose of it. Perhaps mom is in town and can come to my rescue. Maybe someone in my neighborhood was home and could possibly help.... I would take ANY neighbor at this point.  I mow the rest of the area {like I would vacuum. back and forth} keeping my eyes on this horrible visitor. My first go at it was with Jake. But the little bugger disappeared while I went to leash Jake and bring him out front. Terrified my feet would find it, I kept my distance and called my mom. I asked her if she was in town and she reminded me she was working today. {I already forgot it was Wednesday in my panic} As I'm standing there shaking and trying to maintain some strength, Jake is sniffing the flowers and marking the front yard, Mom says she's the only one at work at the time being. {damn} Gratefully our old Bishop pulled into his driveway at that moment and I quickly called out to him. I asked him if he could come and help me with a snake. I was so grateful at the moment when he walked over. I hung up with mom, reigned Jake in close and explained what happened. He started to look while I took Jake to the back yard and came back with a shovel. Brother Clarine commented that it was going to be a good thing to have. I let him know it was a medium size garden snake but I'm absolutely terrified of them and just needed to have it leave my property. He starts poking around and lifting bricks and nothing.... We chatted up a bit while this was happening. Shovel in hand he even looked through the salvia, lavender and hollyhocks. Unfortunately nothing. He lifted the sprinkler valve box and peaked in.... nothing. he even offered to finish mowing that corner so I wouldn't have to be near it. I thanked him but told him I had managed to do so already. I asked him to double check the valve box. Sure enough the little stinker had curled up in the corner under the valve so he could hardly notice him let along grab him. I ran to the garage to grab my trowel, pruners... anything to help get rid of the thing. After pinning him down and attempting to kill it, he finally managed to catch him and pull him out. I asked him if he'd let me chop his head off in hopes of regaining a peace and courage from it. Brother Clarine was so kind and pinned it down for me and let me do the honors. Afterwards I went to scoop it up with the shovel and take it to the trash {sure glad the garbage truck had yet to come} but he was such a sweetheart and carried it over to his place and dropped it in his trash can. Brother Clarine was my angel today.

Breathing deep and trying to regain myself I called mom to let her know what happened. She was proud of me. I had texted Mitch earlier during it to let him know I found a freaking snake in OUR yard.... It was definitely a big moment for me. I did go back out and finish mowing the front yard, planted my peach tree {almost a month later after bringing it home} and then started on the back yard. As I was thinking about the whole situation I surprisingly got angry. I felt a little bit empowered but I was so pissed that the snake had found its way into my yard and took away the safety and peace of my garden. I don't think I've kissed my fear good bye but I took a GIANT leap in tackling my fear of snakes. Surprisingly enough it happened to be on my own turf. I pray that no more unwelcome visitors slither their way into my yard but I do know that I'll be taking them out with my trusty shovel now. So dear snakes beware!! You are NOT welcome here.

2 comments:

Jaclyn said...

Good for you!

Anonymous said...

You go girl!!!