Showing posts with label sick day. Show all posts
Showing posts with label sick day. Show all posts

Saturday, January 26, 2013

ground me to my room please

little one

i don't claim to be perfect at everything.
this week has reminded me so.
mitch woke up monday feeling like he got hit by a train.
scratchy sore throat and achey.
by bedtime i figured it was probably the flu.
unfortunately it didn't get any better the next day...
cough + flu + strep = miserable {for both of us}
poor mitchel has been commuting past the airport for training everyday
and being so sick....
we are glad it's the weekend

the difference between the two of us when sick though ...
mitch prefers to be snuggled at all times.
me? ground me to my bed and leave me alone please.
it poses some issues.
he wants to be miserable with company
and i want to be miserable all by myself.

needless to say i'm far from being  a good wife this week.
i am lacking greatly in patience and some good tender loving care.
hopefully mitch will start feeling better next week
and forgive me for my short coming.
perhaps someday i'll become a better wife when it comes to sick days



Tuesday, July 3, 2012

A week to party {with a side of a cold}


I'm amazed that it's already July
best part about it....
It's my birthday week, the 4th and we are going south this weekend to hike Subway in Zions.

Unfortunately I woke up with a horrible sore throat and barely have the motivation to get out of bed today
I only have to survive the rest of the day though
then I get to party the rest of the week
{maybe spent some of it in bed resting}
Both Mitch and I are glad that we get to take the rest of the week off.
We are needing a little time off a work

Good news too - is that we aren't working on any house renovations this week

Abby's bridal shower is Thursday night
We are celebrating my birthday tomorrow with my family with a 4th of July BBQ
Mitch and I are celebrating Thursday since we are driving south on Friday. {my actual birth-day}
I'm hoping to turn the entire week into my birthday celebration ;)  

Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Tid bits

{New years eve}

It's been a long week.
I'm exhausted and my body told me today that it had enough.

My grandma is making small improvements.
We are taking one day at a time.
Work has been split between the store and the house
My aunt Susie is flying in tomorrow night to spend the weekend with grandma
It was be a blessing having her here

Monday night I made it to Pilates
It was a good way to start the week
I'm enjoying it 
I was hoping to make it tonight....
my body said no...
I've spent the afternoon in bed.

Sunday I'm looking forward to having some girl time
Nanna and I are going to make sugar cookies for Valentines
And I'm planning a little something special for Mitch

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Happy February!!!


I made it through the 'dreary' month of January. I'm eager for the days to come and go because they bring me closer to the spring season. My fabulous job makes spring incredibly exciting with all my plants arriving :)
February will be a good month. I'll be planting my herb seedlings, enjoying the primroses, and getting my first few shipments of plants. Hopefully my mono won't be horrid and I'll see some improvements in my health.

It's seems we are a house of sickies lately. Mitch went home yesterday from work with a stomach bug. But on his way home he made a stop to Jamba juice for us and brought me one at work. Since Sanna is in Mexico this week I'm work everyday (48hrs) which is making for some long quiet days. I look forward to her coming home :)

Monday I made it to the gym. I went to my first Pilates class. I felt out of place at first since I hadn't a clue what Pilates was. I followed everyone else and pulled out a mat, weights, grabbed a ballon and piece of felt. Boy was I in for it. It was the most intense workout I've EVER done. I was sweating like never before :) ha. I left completely beat but eager to go to another class... Until I woke up Tuesday... And waking up this morning I was even more stiff and sore. Lol. I don't think I'll make it to the class tonight but I plan on attending the Monday night class and hopefully working up to Pilates twice a week. I would love to buy my own mat.... The ones available at the gym reak! Tonight I'm hoping to hope on the tread mill. I'm determined to get my 3 days in a week and working up to 4 or 5 times.

Mitch has 'attempted' to make my mono laughable. He won't kiss or share anything with me {naturally} and even thinks I shouldn't be kissing the boys. I had to google -can dogs catch mono to convince him that I need puppy kisses to get me through this. Besides drawing death on my water bottle, he won't hold hands with me if my hands touched my mouth and likes to pillow forts to protect him from my mono germs. Lol. I'm glad he's good for a laugh :) at least he'll kiss my forehead goodnight.

Sunday, January 29, 2012

no more mix ups


My sweet hubby made sure to get rid of the guessing game between our water bottles.
Apparently mono means death to him. Silly Mitchel.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

a little piece to the puzzle


Sisters.
I love that as we get older.... we grow closer together.
We have a very unique dynamic...
and I love it.



A little update...
I've been spending more time focusing on the important things in my life...
which means less computer/internet time. 
It's been really wonderful.

Last week we get our gym membership
went shopping for some workout clothes
I finally found a lamp I liked for my nightstand!! {a bonus - it was on clearance}
I've been reading my book on hypothyroidism 
We've spent time with family
spent time together
we've cooked some
Monday I made it to the gym in the morning, work and then came home feeling like the flu had hit me 
I attended a trade show for work up at the sandy expo center yesterday.
I slept in yesterday and today
Fighting a mean sore throat...
I had today off and spent it cleaning the house and resting

Updates on my health:
My doctor called with my test results today
We finally know why I've been feeling extremely fatigued
So on top of the normal fatigue from being hypothyroid... I also have mono. 
She said she's surprised I don't have a sore throat and feel feverish/flu-ish...
I laughed... and said guessed what showed up this week.
She recommends lots and lots of rest, plenty of fluids and eating extra healthy.
Hopefully once I kick the mono... I'll start feeling better with my thyroid as well.
I've been on synthroid and it has helped bring my TSH levels towards the normal range {2.98}
but I asked to be switched to Amour which is a more 'natural' thyroid medicine that's animal {pig} based.
I hope to see improvements in the next few months.

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Tuesday notes


Thanksgiving was wonderful.

I've been trying to find my energy....
I haven't been super successful.
Sunday I spent the majority of the day in bed resting...
Saturday I came down with a sore throat...
it's now day 4
Sore throats are the worst!!

I pulled our Christmas last night.
I decorated while nanna cleaned :)
Clean house = AMAZING
Christmas = wonderful.
{sore throat = miserable}

Happy Tuesday



Wednesday, October 19, 2011

{Time}


You know those weeks that are SO busy it seems near impossible to make time for any Internet time? Yea... I'm having one of those weeks. It's good though. Working long hours, trying to balance the tasks at home, and spend adequate time with my hubby and boys.

In the last week and a half, we've spent way too much money on dr visits and medicine. Being sick is SO much fun! {do you sense the sarcasm?} my voice is a bit stronger than the last few days. I sound incredibly sexy ;) lol. Hopefully the anibiotics help, and get ride of my on going congestion. Mitch is doing a bit better. Strep seems to be gone, but he's got a horrible cold now. I'm crossing my fingers we are both better by next Thursday when we leave to celebrate our 2 year anniversary!!

This morning I was super lucky and was able to sleep in a bit. Yay! Got up, hung out with my boys, got ready for work. Had some Spark {Abby you win} and stuffed as much of my annual flowers in my trash can. Yea for trash day. I still have a ton of yard clean up though. Praying for The good weather to last a couple weeks more.

Best part of my morning - rocking out to music and dancing with myself on the way to work. I'm sure it was a sight to see at the stoplights. Ha ha.

Happy hump day!

Monday, October 17, 2011

All at once.

{Jakey and I at pumpkinland}

Two cold sores in one week. Out of medicine :( losing my voice.

Miserably long wait and 2 different doctors office. Finally got seen and handed two prescriptions. Not much of a explanation on what's wrong. Frustrating. Walmart - 1 hr wait to fill prescriptions. Walgreens took care of me in less than 10. Thank heavens.

Tired. Frustrated. Looking forward to snuggs from Mitch when he gets home.
Luckily Mitch is feeling a bit better.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

A breath of fresh air.


Mitch and I are a couple of sickies. Nasty cold for me and a mean sore throat for hubby. Sad day.
I slept in til 9:30. Laid in bed for awhile. Finally talked myself outta bed. I took the boys with me to run to the bank, and grab a Pepsi. It's been about 4 weeks since I got a 32 oz. kudos me. When we got back home, we crawled back into bed and continued our lazy morning til 1 :) it was amazing.

My to do list was calling. {have you downloaded the new ios5 for the iPhone yet?? Love the reminders app!!} I was able to deep clean the kitchen. Do some dishes. Put away my canned tomatoes. Pick up puppy poo, double mow the backyard {it was a jungle}. Sweep out the garage and put some stuff away in the shed for the winter. Sorted laundry and cleaned up my side of the closet. Vacuum. Roast some more Chilis. Started decorating my front porch. It feels great getting some things checked off my list!!

But now it's back to bed. With Cafe Rio for dinner :)

Surprisingly this is the most on-top-of-things I've felt in a very very long.

Monday, October 10, 2011

Morning brunch


It's Monday. I ended up spending my Sunday sleeping. All day. I started feeling sick saturday and didn't feel any better yesterday. Slept til 11 and another 5 hours in the afternoon. Nyquil is my new BFF lol.

This morning we were able to go out for breakfast. Yay for morning dates and yummy food! Too bad we both have to work the rest of the day.

My 'blind' date with the Utah bloggers turned out fabulously!! I'll have to post the few pictures I have soon! I am totally smitten with all the darling ladies I got to meet. Best girls night in a long time :)

Here's to hoping for a great week and that I start to feel better soon :)

Friday, September 2, 2011

A house of sickies


Are you as excited as I am that today is Friday?!?!!! Holy crow, it's been a long week. Between a full week of work and some sickies I'm ready for the weekend!! Jake has had the barfs for the last few days. I feel so bad for him. So far so good this morning... No messes when I let him out of his room. Yesterday Mitch left work just after 9 because he felt so ill. The flu is the worst! I wished I could've left work and taken care of him. Luckily a bottle of Nyquil did the job for me. By the time I got home from work, my head was throbbing and my body was on the achey side. Don't ya just LOVE hot showers, especially when ya don't feel the greatest?! I sure do!! We made the bestest tomato soup ever with sour dough grilled cheese sandwiches for dinner :) it was delicious. Watched Rio and rested the entire evening. I even took a brief nap. And to top it off I had the most comfortable and good nights rest. Ah. Good way to start off Friday morning. Now if only it was time to be off already. ;)

Happy Friday!! Hope your weekend doesn't include sickies :)

Sunday, July 17, 2011

One of those days.

It was a long week FULL of work.

This morning my body said it had enough. I really struggled with getting out of bed. I could've laid in bed all day... I finally crawled outta bed to see that Mitch was miserable on the couch downstairs. Poor Mitch, his tummy is acting up again. He wasn't going to make it to church and I was sure tempted to make it a sick day for both of us. Yet I managed to get ready and make it to primary. Brittany had the flu so the rest of us decided it would be good to cancel the meeting with the stake primary presidency. I was relieved.

Coming home, all I wanted was to crawl back in bed for the day. Mitch and I attempted cooking. It was rather comical... The milk was sour, I burnt the bacon horribly, Mitch's sausage was nasty {not that I like any kind of sausage. Lol} so the boys got spoiled. We had cracked eggs for German pancakes, so mitch made brownies. Luckily it turn out unlike anything else had. I gave up on cooking and crawled Back in bed. We watched Harry Potter 7.1. It was good. And then I slept for about 3 hours. Sweet Jake kept me company.

Everyone has one of these kinda days... Right? Exhaustion and things just not working?

Agenda for this coming week
1: grocery shopping
2: getting caught up on rest
3: accomplishing my to do list early I'm the week

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Sprite and crackers

I was telling Mitch the other day that the only way I'd spend a day in bed is if I got sick.

I woke up feeling miserable and unbelievably sick to my tummy. Figured it was probably just the new birth control.

Water made me feel even sicker, same with Pepsi. I made it 2 hours into worked and puked. Chase and Andrea insisted I go home and they could manage til 1 when Nanna got there. Thanks guys!! I stopped at the store and grabbed sprite and saltines PLUS giant softball sized grapefruit. Made it home and lost my stomach again.

I spent the rest of the day sleeping and Laying in bed. Looks like I caught the stomach flu


:( Mitch had it last week. Hopin I feel better tomorrow!!

Thursday, February 17, 2011

A cold morning + some thoughts


Yesterday morning was unbelievable!! It went a little like this:
6:30 - coughing and trying to breath
being sick is never fun
trying to get comfy....
I get up to go to the bathroom in hopes of finding some relief in my nose
Go grab some asprin, hoping that it will help relieve the aches in my body
6:40 - I crawl back into bed, still trying to get comfy
mitch finally asks what time it is.... then ask me to get out of bed
apparently I was waking him
I didn't.
I needed a little more sleep before I started my day.
I dosed off and was happy that I woke to my alarm.
7:40 - got up and dressed for my day
let the boys outside
fed them
sat down at the computer
8:25 - kissed Mitch goodbye
{We have different schedules now}
put the boys back in their beds
grabbed breakfast and lunch
8:35 - pulled out of my driveway
HOLY MOLY
it was 55 degrees outside!!!
It was as though spring had arrived during the night!
The sun was shinning, the sun was warm
Boy did it make my heart sing :)

8:50 - get to work, open up
Sanna gets there and gets me up to speed with everything
I worked in the greenhouse.... in the dirt... I loved the warmth in there!!
There is something special about spring....
I wish the beautiful weather stayed
the afternoon got cloudy and windy and chilly.


After work I came home and enjoyed 'me' time
fed the boys and hung out with them.
7 pm - I went visiting teaching.
Its been years since I've visit taught. I was nervous, plus I still don't know many in my ward.
It was good though.
The lord really knows what we all need
and I needed a lesson in sisterhood and service.
I left humbled.
8 - Mitch came home for dinner before he finished out his shift.
I enjoyed seeing him :) It made me happy.
The weather was really yucky by then!
snow, wind, ice, freezing



- This morning-
6:40 - woke up having troubles breathing and getting comfy again.
Golly its worse than an alarm clock.
Jake was sleeping with us
{He's my new buddy}
I'm grateful he was quiet and settled back down
Bathroom, lots of nose blowing, nothing...
Tried falling back asleep
7 - finally got up, hoping Mitch would be able to get more rest
Its not nearly as nice out side this morning
Its cold and there is WHITE stuff on the ground again.


But today is Thursday!!
Do you know what that means?!!
ALL of my favorite shows are on tonight!!
HOORAY
CSI Vegas, Bones, Grey's Anatomy and Private Practice!!
Jake and Cezar have no complaints about them either ;)


{What was your day?}
{What is your favorite part about thursday?}
{Are you ready for spring?}

Friday, February 11, 2011

{Hello Weekend!!}


The weekend has finally arrived!! Hooray!

I managed a full 8 hours at work today.
I was successful in getting some computer work done, helping customers, setting out our fresh delievery of live Valentine flowers.
My throat is still killing me :( So sore and swollen.
My mommy stopped by and gave me some herbs. I love my mommy.
I took some pain killers this morning and went the whole day with out aching.... it was a nice change. They finally wore off around 5 :(
Mitch is starting his series 7 course.... which means I lose him to work and his studying. I'll make sure to enjoy the moments I sleep next to him. It'll be an adjustment for both of us.
We did however set aside time to run out and grab a pizza tonight. We grabbed Pizza Huts dipper pizza.... the thing was HUGE :) And we also stopped to pick me up some orange juice. We shared some giggles while trying to pick out the 'right' orange juice. There are surprisingly a LOT of choices. It was a nice little outting.
After a nice hot shower... lots of water... orange juice.... I'm feeling a tiny bit better.
Mitch ended up needing to work tomorrow. Yea for over time. Looks like I'll spend my morning waiting for the cable guy to come fix my DVR. and then I'll go get my nails done!! They are in desperate need of it!
PS. Tomorrow is the 12th. So pick up your camera and snaps some photos!! For more details check out 12 of 12 here.

{Is the end in sight?!!}

I woke up feeling just as yucky. Golly I don't enjoy being sick.
Its Friday.... I was came down sick on Monday!
Horrible I say!!
My throat hurts and feels nice and swollen.
I don't really want to talk.
My head still hurts.
Surprisingly my body isn't currently aching...
Hope it stays away
Mild coughing
Since its friday.... it means I have a day off tomorrow!!! Hooray! I hope I manage today.
The end of the week is in sight... I don't know about being sick though.
I think today calls for makeup and a hot shower
And snuggling on the couch with Mitchel tonight
I hope I have more energy tomorrow...
My house is in need of some TLC


*What do you do when your sick?!*

Thursday, February 10, 2011

No good, achey day

I left work at about 4 yesterday, felt just fine.... then it hit me like a train...
sick, achey, moody, miserable, head hurt, throat hurt.
Curled up in bed by 6:30
Mitch tucked me in and turned out the lights at 8.
Woke up still feeling awful
Mitch made me thera flu before he left.... SUPER NASTY
Bundled up for work
Manage for awhile
But decided to come home and do some computer work.
Seems like the sick bug is floating around...
Abby is super sick with a sinus infection and the flu
My mommy was down with the flu for awhile
Everyone at Mitch's work is sick too...
I hope this clears up soon! I'm not feeling too well.

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Tuesday tid bits

Its been a productive day. I woke up feeling alright, just not tip top shape.
Mitch got off a little early today. And since I wasn't feeling 100 % I took off to spend time with him. We made salad and left overs for dinner. It was delicious!
I'm still super chilled. I can't seem to stay warm.
Tuesday night means -- GLEE!! I love it! And I'm super glad new episodes are back on.
Mitch is dealing with the stupid people at the cable company :( Our DVR broke and they said we have to pay them to fix and problem that should be covered by them. We'll see if he gets them to take care of it! I love my DVR and I'm going nuts without it!
I'm worn out...

Monday, February 7, 2011

um... hello sick day....



This morning I woke up to awful stomach pain. Didn't think much of it since it seemed to pass. Rolled out of bed and felt freezing but when I sat on the heater to warm up I felt hot and clammy...
I got ready for work and went on my way. I opened the store and poured some more paint so I could work on finishing the trim work. Rather quickly I was super hot, cold and clammy. I was shakey and feeling week. I tried toughing it out..... an hour and a half later I called it a day.I came home and went straight to bed. Watched a little tv, Mitch came home for lunch and brought me lunch in bed {awe what a sweetie} and then took a long nap.
I think its time for some more cuddle time in my warm comfy bed and some zzzzz's and perhaps a nice hot shower.
Hello monday.... hello sick day.... hello achey body